6 C’ing my way through Nursing – Communication

Next post in the 6 Cs series!

Communication – one of those buzz words. Found in every job specification, every soft skills workshop and every CV. But really, sometimes I wonder if we always have the time to communicate properly, or even, if we sometimes remember that not everyone knows what we are talking about.

For example, this week I got some new inhalers for my newly diagnosed asthma. It’s not very well controlled at the moment and they have been trying me with all sorts of things. It turns out that I shouldn’t really be taking my Ventolin/Salbutamol (blue/rescue/reliever) inhaler more than 3 times per week if I am also taking Clenil (brown/steroid/longer acting) inhaler. No one told me that. I remember asking how often I could use my blue inhaler and my other GP said as often as I needed it. So I did. I didn’t realise that ‘often’ was limited to three times per week. This is what I thought it meant:

often
ˈɒf(ə)n,ˈɒft(ə)n/
adverb
adverb: often; comparative adverb: oftener; superlative adverb: oftenest
  1. frequently; many times.
    “he often goes for long walks by himself”
    synonyms: frequently, many times, many a time, on many/numerous occasions, a lot, in many cases/instances, repeatedly, again and again, time and again, time and time again, time after time, over and over, over and over again, {day in, day out}, {week in, week out}, all the time, regularly, recurrently, continually, usually, habitually, commonly, generally, ordinarily, as often as not; More

    informallots;
    literaryoft, oft-times
    “he often asked after you”
    antonyms: seldom, rarely, never

Perhaps not then! So…  cue a very surprised GP and even more surprised moi when I explained how often I used my inhalers. Now I have a pink one – to replace the brown one but not the blue. I have no idea why and I can’t remember if my GP told me. I just know that I very obediently picked up and paid for my prescription without really asking anything.

I’m surprised at myself really. I think I’m quite assertive and I don’t really see myself as needing any sort of extra assistance or support with my meds.  I normally ask a lot of questions and don’t really accept the status quo if I don’t understand it. But it does make me realise how much we all trust and rely on ‘experts’ without question.

During placement I ask any questions that I don’t know the answers to and when it comes to patients I try to gauge the patient’s understanding and knowledge and explain things in their own terms as much as possible. But now that I am the patient and ‘on the other side’ I’m double guessing myself – am I really communicating as well as I could and should be? Are my patients going away from hospital as confused as I am about my asthma inhalers?

I have no doubt that my GP believed that he was being truly helpful; looking after me and ensuring I had the right inhalers to help me. Just like I do not think for a second that a lack of information or communication is ever intentional. I don’t think people intentionally withhold or hide information on purpose. Or do they?

But, I can’t remember if my GP asked me if I had any questions when I got my new inhalers. Nor did he show me how to use them – a bit of a faux pas seeing that it was a completely new type that I had never ever seen before (thank you YouTube for showing me the way). But then again, I’m not sure I would have known what to ask, and I don’t know if I would have asked even if I did now.

Of course, I know communication is not just verbal. It also includes body language, tone, eye contact and gestures. But I wonder, is communication between the health professional and patient really about exchanging information (in whichever format that may be)? Or instead (or in addition to) is it an exchange of power? That’s what they say, isn’t it? Information is power.

Do we, as health professionals, not communicate properly or hold on to information for fear that the patient will run away with it and we will no longer be in control?

Or perhaps we are worried that they will no longer needs us? We need them! Otherwise we wouldn’t have a job!

Do we not willingly communicate for fear that we will not understand the response?

Or that we will not have the time or resources to deal with the response or questions that our own communication and information triggers?

The above reads like a bit of a riddle and I suppose communication in itself is a bit of a mine field. Most of us think we have the necessary skills to communicate adequately. I think I do. Sort of. Though I have to be honest and admit that the more I write this blog the more unsure I am that I’m getting my point across and communicating effectively! So I will leave it there..until next time!

Here is a quick picture that made me smile! I thought it was apt 🙂

wee non

 

 

Leave a comment